
 
 
 
August 16, 2023 
 
Rules Coordinator  
Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner 
P.O. Box 40258 
Olympia, WA 98504 
Submitted via e-mail to: rulescoordinator@oic.wa.gov 
 
RE: Consolidated Health Care Rulemaking CR-101(R 2023-07) 
 
To whom it may concern, 
 
On behalf of Cambia Health Solutions family of insurance companies (“Cambia”), including Regence 
BlueShield, Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon, Regence BlueShield of Idaho, Asuris Northwest 
Health, and BridgeSpan Health Company, thank you for the opportunity to provide feedback on the CR-
101 for the consolidated health care rulemaking. Through our efforts to implement the various pieces of 
legislation this rulemaking will cover we have identified areas of the laws that would benefit from 
additional clarification. It is important all carriers issuing health plans in Washington interpret the 
requirements in a similar manner to ensure a level playing field in the industry and a consistent consumer 
experience. With that in mind, we would like to offer the following comments for your consideration as 
you draft rules.   
 
ESHB 1222 – Requiring coverage for hearing instruments 
 
Section 1 of the legislation requires large group health plans to cover hearing instruments and several 
associated services. The legislation does not address coverage requirements in terms of provider network 
status. We strongly recommend these rules clarify whether health plans must provide the coverage 
required in ESHB 1222 from both in-network and out-of-network health care providers. We believe the 
intent of the legislation was to provide minimum coverage for hearing instruments and services, 
regardless of network status.   
 
ESHB 1222 also prohibits the health plans from applying a member’s deductible unless the health plan is 
a qualified high-deductible health plan. However, the legislation is silent regarding other forms of 
member cost-sharing, such as co-pays and co-insurance. We believe the intent of the legislation was to 
allow normal health plan design for other forms of cost-sharing and recommend these rules clarify that 
allowance.  
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Section 3 of the legislation specifies hearing instruments must be covered at no less than $3,000 per ear 
with hearing loss every 36 months (emphasis added). In other states with similar mandates, health plans 
have required providers to bill for hearing instruments with either a LT (left side) or RT (right side) 
modifier to meet this requirement. We are concerned with relying on a coding requirement because we 
cannot ensure non-contracted providers will bill accordingly, and we are concerned with denying claims 
due to billing errors. Alternatively, we would like to provide coverage at no less than $3,000 per device 
up to two devices every 36 months. This will also allow a member to replace a single device if needed 
without running into a single ear restriction. We believe this approach aligns with the spirit and intent of 
the law while easing administrative burden on providers and providing more flexibility to members 
within their benefit.  
 
Section 5 of ESHB 1222 specifies that coverage for a minor under 18 years old should only be available 
after the minor has received medical clearance within the preceding six months. We believe this section 
would benefit from rulemaking to clarify the legislative intent. This requirement adds administrative 
burden and potentially delays care if health plans are required to validate medical clearance before 
covering a hearing instrument for a minor. We recommend clarification surrounding the health plan’s 
obligation to ensure a provider and member meets this requirement before providing access to the hearing 
instrument benefit.  
 
SB 5242 – Prohibiting cost-sharing for abortion 
 
The legislation does not address cost-sharing requirements in terms of provider network status. We 
strongly recommend these rules clarify whether health plans must apply the cost-sharing prohibition to 
services provided by both in-network and out-of-network health care providers.  
 
SSB 5396 – Cost-sharing for diagnostic and supplemental breast examinations  
 
The legislation does not address cost-sharing requirements in terms of provider network status. We 
strongly recommend these rules clarify whether health plans must apply the cost-sharing prohibition to 
services provided by both in-network and out-of-network health care providers.  
 
Thank you for considering our comments. Please let me know if you would like to discuss any of our 
feedback further. I can be reached at Jane.Douthit@Regence.com or (206) 332-5212.  
 
 
Sincerely, 

 

Jane Douthit 
Cambia Health Solutions 
Sr. Public & Regulatory Affairs Specialist   

mailto:Jane.Douthit@Regence.com

